Do you know what all those certifications mean on your hardware and equipment?


There are any number of acronyms and coded numbers present on CMC Rescue hardware and equipment. Each of these represents a certification of strength and safety that may be required for a specific industry, or signifies that our products have been tested and approved by a widely recognized safety or quality control commission. These testing and certification procedures are essential in our promise of uncompromised safety and guaranteed performance in all our products. Below is a list of these certifications and their meaning.

  • ISO

    One of the highest standards we’re proud to adhere to are the ISO Standards, developed by the International Organization For Standardization. ISO standards are developed by technical committees comprising experts from the industrial, technical and business sectors . These experts may be joined by representatives of government agencies, testing laboratories, consumer associations, non-governmental organizations and academic circles. CMC Rescue is ISO-9001 certified, which means we go to great lengths to meet the highest standards in our processes, we meet or exceed all regulatory requirements in our products and services, and that our processes are scalable and able to grow as our company does.

  • UL Classification

    UL (Underwriters Laboratory) is an American safety consulting and certification company. UL is one of several companies widely accepted and approved to perform safety testing for agencies like Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), and the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), and within any industry where adhering to safety standards is a necessity. Much of CMC Rescue’s equipment goes through rigorous testing with UL and certifies to NFPA, ANSI and CE standards.

  • Industry Standards

  • NFPA

    The National Fire Protection Association developed the NFPA standards based on industry consensus and voluntary compliance pertaining to public and firefighter safety. Pertinent standards include professional qualifications, technical rescue, and life safety rope and equipment. Many fire agencies require their equipment to meet NFPA standards for use and safety, and much of CMC’s equipment is UL Classified to NFPA 1983 standards.

  • ANSI

    The American National Standards Institute is a non-profit organization that oversees the development of safety and quality standards for products, services, processes, systems, and personnel in the United States. The organization also coordinates U.S. standards with international standards so that American products can be used worldwide. ANSI seeks industry consensus and accredits safety and other standards that are developed with the input of representatives of other standards organizations, government agencies, consumer groups and more. Many of CMC’s products are ANSI certified.

  • CE

    CE is an abbreviation of the French term “Conformité Européene,” or European Conformity, and applicable standards have been developed by European Union (EU) legislation to maintain a consistency of quality and safety of products imported and/or sold throughout countries that are part of the EU, the European Economic Area (EEA), and the European Free Trade Agreement (EFTA).